Taco Hut and Pizza Bell…a great end to a wedding

Once again I found myself eating dinner way too late. I was out with my friends (my baby was at home sleeping while my in-laws and husband babysat…yeah) and we all realized we hadn’t eaten in hours and were starving. We debated the merits of pizza vs. tacos for what seemed like an eternity before someone remembered there is a Pizza Hut/Taco Bell in Broadripple. Now, I don’t know who the genius was behind this culinary enterprise, but until last night I had no idea such a place existed. I mean, some marketing rep was sitting around, examining the over saturated fast food circuit and thought, “Hey, what people really need is the ability to get breadsticks as a side for their burritos.” The person responsible was right…that’s exactly what I wanted last night, and exactly what I got. In fact, with only one exception we all got a breadstick/burrito (or taco) combo and might I add, it was fantastic! Like I said, genius!

 

Before we actually reached this little food nirvana though, a good friend of mine I hadn’t seen in awhile hit me with a question I wasn’t quite ready for. He wanted to know what I thought of the wedding.* I have to admit, I was sort of struck dumb for a moment. Not that he asked the question. He’s a good friend, he can ask. It was just that I wasn’t sure what kind of answer he was looking for. Not that I tailor my answers to what my friends desire, I just wasn’t sure if he was looking for something along the lines of “It was a pretty ceremony,” or if he was searching to see if I had some deep-seeded emotional reaction to it. So, I simply said, “It was nice.” 

 

He looked at me oddly and I wasn’t quite sure if it was the sincere drunk he had going on or if “nice” was a little to generic for him. I stumbled a bit, trying to embellish my rather vague statement. “Everything looked pretty and their vows were sweet.” Still, he stared at me. I realized he wanted the deep emotional deluge. I didn’t really have one for him. I told him I was happy for them and that I thought it was nice. I reminded him that they’d come to my wedding and gotten recruited as the cinematographers and he nodded. He admitted he didn’t understand how we could all be so cool about it. He has too much resentment about his former loves to be so civil and collected. He finished the conversation with an “it’s either really healthy or you’re in total denial.”

 

I realize this is how most people looking at the situation would see it, which is why I just told almost everyone that I was going to the wedding of an old friend. It’s not that I mind being asked about it. I know most people think it’s odd that we can be friends, much less sit smiling as the other marries. I don’t know that I can really explain it, at least not to most people’s satisfaction. I am really happy for them. It was a beautiful ceremony and the vows really were touching. I thought they both looked great and the food (catered by my former brother-in-law) was out of this world. I had fun catching up with my former in-laws, because they are truly cool people. Everyone cooed over my son and I got to hang out with my friends. It was a great day and I’m really glad I got to be a part of it. Plus, I got a burrito with breadsticks at the end of it all. If this ain’t good living, I don’t know what is.

 

*For non-serial blog readers or close friends, it was my ex-husband’s wedding.

Leave a comment

Filed under love, my friends, products, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

