I am a walking puddle of disease

I’m sick and it sucks. I know sucks is not a good word for an English teacher to use. There are tons of great adjectives out there just waiting to dot the paragraphs of my writing, but like I said, I’m sick and to be honest, I don’t care about poetic language. I mostly care about sleeping. Oh, and breathing. I’m hoping tonight I’ll be able to do both at the same time without waking every few minutes because my throat has gone dry again. I hate when this happens because inevitably when I go in search of the water bottle I set on my bedside table I end up knocking my book or worse, my glasses over and then I either risk searching for them when I’m half asleep or waiting until morning and forgetting they’ve been knocked on the ground. Either way there’s a 50/50 chance I’ll step on them.

My students took a bit of pity on me today and tried to be good. I got sympathetic head nods when I described a pressure building in my head that made me warn them to be prepared to duck when it exploded. They promised to be quiet so we could all have nap time together. I smiled, momentarily considered it and then remembered that they can’t be quiet for two minutes during the announcements so there was no way they’d make it through an entire class period. Nope, no napping for me.

It’s funny (and not funny ha-ha), before I became a teacher I never got sick. I hardly missed any classes when I was in high school. In college I can only remember one actual cold and that’s mostly because I went to the health center and got a perscription for some lovely cough medicine with codeine in it. My hubby at the time was sick with the same symptoms but instead of going to the doc himself, he just kept taking swigs from my bottle of liquid happiness. It ran out before my cold did and I couldn’t get a refill. That also sucked.

As short as this is, I must sign off. My goal is to be in bed by 8:30 so I’ve only got 15 minutes left. I still have to make my lunch for tomorrow, get in my jammies, brush my teeth and take my contacts out. It’s pathetic when my bedtime is only 30 minutes after the baby’s, but I can’t help it. I’m sick and I don’t have any of that tasty codeine anymore. I just have to hope my nose will decide whether it’s going to back up worse than my pipes in Florida or continue to drip at a rate that makes tissues obsolete. Either way I have a feeling it’s going to be a rough night.

Leave a comment

Filed under bad days, life as a teacher, married life, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

