Something’s gotta give

Right now I am overwhelmed. We are quickly approaching the end of the first nine weeks of school. For many schools all this means is sending home some progress reports. Since we are on block 4, it means our first “semester” is ending. That means I have to get all the essays I currently have graded in order to get the next batch on Monday. I’ll have to have an even quicker turn around on those as I still have one more writing assignment to assign/grade, a novel to start, and finals to write and grade. That is, of course, in addition to the other small tests, projects and homework assignments I’ll have to give in the next two and a half weeks. Oh, and that’s just for my sophomores. I have AP to consider too and we have to finish a novel and a short story unit on top of the two major projects that are due and the AP tests and writing prompts I need to assign/grade.

Did I mention I haven’t planned anything at all for the next nine weeks yet? I have a lot of lesson plans to write as well.

Plus, now that I only get to see my baby for about 3 1/2 hours each day (and about an hour of that is a car ride), I don’t even start any work until he’s in bed. Somewhere in there I have to fix/eat dinner as well.

I’m acutally not complaining or trying to get much sympathy. I’m just realizing that some prioritizing has to go on.

My son, is obviously number 1.

My husband, is number 2. When can hang out after the baby goes to bed, and he’s used to school making me a little crazy. He deals well considering.

I’ve gotten off to a great start with my students this year. I’ve put in so much time and effort and really built relationships with them, so I know that has to be at the top of my list.

So, what has to suffer? I’ve come to terms with the fact that all of my dinners are going to be coming from my deep freeze, various take out places or store bought boxes. This I can live with. I’m ok with this and luckily, my husband will eat anything, so he is too.

My house is the next thing that has to go. This is not a great hardship as I’m not exactly a neat freak. As long as there is no actual filth, I’m ok with letting the clutter pile up a little. I’ll have to resign myself to the fact that the laundry and dishes can wait a little bit if need be. Lord knows I have enough clothes (even with the extra baby pounds), so just because the top I want to wear isn’t clean, who cares?

Sadly, the third thing I’ve realized is that this blog is probably going to have to suffer a bit as well. I’m not giving it up. I like complaining and spouting off about things way too much for that. What it probably means though is that I’ll only get to write a couple of times a week at most. That’s probably a relief for my nearest and dearest, many of whom have started back to school and realize they too have few moments to spare, but as this is a slice of life sort of blog, daily updates make me feel more productive. I’m trying to look at the bright side…I’m saving my friends time as well.

So, who knows when I’ll have time to spare. Maybe when I get these last ten essays graded. Man, if more of my kids were slacking this semester, I’d make this grading thing so much easier on myself. Sigh…maybe I should let that teaching thing go, just a little.

2 Comments

Filed under life as a teacher, married life, motherhood, my friends, my son, ramblings, what makes me me

2 responses to “Something’s gotta give

  1. gb

    Why not move the husband to, like, fifth?

  2. beetqueen

    Because I really like having sex.

    Oh, and he’d whine if he got pushed farther down the list.

Leave a Reply

