Recipe secret police be damned

Since I was never specifically told I couldn’t share this recipe and it was given to me by my sister-in-law, the one who does not hire body guards to stand outside the kitchen when she’s cooking just in case someone tries to sneak a peak at the ingredients or cooking times, for anyone interested, here is the yummy orange cranberry sauce recipe Eee asked me for several days ago. It’s easy, takes no real technique and is super tasty.

 Ingredients:

1 pound whole cranberries

1 orange peeled and sectioned (or 1 cup orange juice which is how I did it)

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup water

1 teaspoon grated orange zest (I left this out since I didn’t have an actual orange)

Instructions:

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and simmer about 20 minutes or until berries pop (for those of you who might be recipe challenged, this means the berries sort of burst open and become less like berries and more like juice with a little berry skin on it). Skim any foam that might collect on top and cool. Chill it in the fridge for at least an hour.

Serve with your favorite dish or, if you are me, just grab a spoon and dig in. Man, I love this stuff. Don’t get me wrong, I also enjoy my family’s traditional can shaped cranberry sauce, but this stuff is just tasty.

Enjoy this recipe while you can. If my mother-in-law gets wind that I’ve leaked it, even though it’s not hers, it may be pulled from the site.

Leave a comment

Filed under food, married life, my crazy family, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

