Learn how to be romantic on your own

Today on the radio I heard about the latest “romantic” trend to sweep the country. Apparently men are really slacking in the proposal department, so a new industry has been created: proposal planners. Yes, that’s right, there are now people you can hire to plan your proposal for you. This is, quite possibly, one of the most preposterous things I’ve ever heard of (and that includes our class discussion today when my kids admitted to watching/being on-line for 9 hours a day and texting/talking on the phone for an equal amount of time and yet denying that they are dependant on technology).

Wedding planners I understand. Although I never needed one, since my only real wedding concern was finding a dress I absolutely loved. I managed to do that on my very first outing, so the rest of it just fell into place. I know I’m a bit out of the ordinary though. Weddings often involve the coordination of flowers, food, churches, halls, musicians and the happiness of anywhere from 25 to several hundred people not even in the actual wedding, so I get why stressed out couples with full-time jobs might need some additional, non-family biased help getting everything together.

But proposal planners? Come on! Proposals should involve two people. They should be an honest declaration of love between them. If you don’t know someone well enough to plan a proposal that you’ll both remember and look back on fondly until old age kicks in and you’re lucky to remember where you put your dentures, maybe you should rethink the whole marriage thing. It doesn’t take a genius to plan a nice proposal.

My husband (who is, in fact, a very smart man) managed a beautiful proposal with no help from anyone. His proposal was something you read about in books or see in movies.

He got our favorite sushi place to open especially for us. Not only was it a Sunday (a day they are always closed), but it was mother’s day. I thought he’d planned a special birthday surprise for me because I’d been complaining a few weeks before that I’d never really had anyone I was dating do anything special for my birthday before. After a meal of all my favorites, he gave me my presents. The first were two travel books about the best places to visit in the United States, since we’d been talking about wanting to visit all 50 states during our life together. The second present was a box of Godiva, my absolute favorite candy treat. Inside were my favorite truffles, his favorite truffles and a black velvet box. When I looked up, he was down on one knee. He told me how much he loved me (in words I won’t share here, but which are burned in my memory) and asked me to spend the rest of my life with him. When I said yes, he took the ring, which was his grandmomma’s, out of the box and slipped it on my finger. The owners of the restaurant then came out and congratulated us.

This from the same man who got me a dust buster and a plunger for my birthday the first year we were dating.

It never ceases to amaze me how lazy and status crazy we have become as a society. We don’t want to take the time to plan out a proposal that will touch the heart of someone we love, but we want a good story to brag about to all of our friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under love, married life, pet peeves, problems with society, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

