Comment on a comment

Ok, so I just spent like 20 minutes thinking about, writing and then rewriting a comment to a complete jerk who left a nasty comment about this entry. I don’t have the effort for a whole other blog (although I was going to write about the hilarity of my son’s first discovery of cake and ice cream), so if you want to see my latest annoyance and yet another example of my OCD and how I just can’t let things go, you can check it out.

The bit of irony here is that I was just talking to my journalism class today about the problems with anonymous sources. Yes, they can be very valuable when cracking big cases, but one of the biggest problems with allowing people to say things on any kind of written forum without having to include their name or some sort of real identification is that they feel it is ok to attack and tear people down. There is really no repercussion for doing so. We looked at a section of one of the local papers that is basically a “let it out” open forum and one of the nine entries was positive. The rest were abhorrent. They bad-mouthed neighbors, co-workers, teachers, police officers and lambasted local politicians. They said hateful things the newspaper would never be able to print in their actual stories for fear of libel lawsuits. However, because names were withheld (the author’s at least), they made it in. Personally I feel they should be ashamed of these types of columns. They turn into nothing more than petty name calling and passive aggressive attempts to belittle people in their own community. I refuse to let my students use any anonymous sources for this very reason. Anyone who feels the need to speak out, especially in a defamatory way, has to take responsibility for their words.

 I will try to be back tomorrow or Wed. with fresh ramblings, however, midterms are approaching and I have a stack of essays to grade that might actually be taller than I am. I have exactly two weeks to get them all graded (in addition to the tests, homework and the work from another class entirely). Wish me luck or pray to your respective God for me. I will definitely need it!

3 Comments

Filed under bad people, life as a teacher, pet peeves, problems with society, ramblings, what makes me me

3 responses to “Comment on a comment

  1. missanthropy

    It’s always so much easier for cowards to knock down other people on the Internet. There’s no real repercussions or threat of being discovered and confronted. What do they say about arguing on the Internet? Something not very nice.

    Of course, it’s too late to say “just ignore the jackass,” but that’s what you should do. If it’s not positive, informed, or constructive in some way, I would just delete future comments like that. If the person really needs to have his say by condemning personal blogs, he’s pathetic.

  2. Everyone has a right to say whatever they want, but I must agree that there are some very annoying people out there.. My advice is to thicken your skin and move on with life 🙂

  3. beetqueen

    I am a firm believer in free speech and know that people can (and will) say what they like, but there is something about the internet and blog culture specifically that tends to bring out the nasty side in people. They are willing to write things in an anonymous manner that they would never say in person. Many people seem quicker to pass judgement and willing to be just mean for the sake of being mean.

    In fact, many people do it on purpose specifically to start little blog wars. I think it’s just ridiculous.

    Plus, even though I may complain about my hubby from time to time, I don’t want to be seen as one of those rotten wives who expect the world but aren’t willing to consider their husbands. I have a great many faults, but concern and consideration for my husband are not among them.

Leave a Reply

