Exotic chocolates…spicy

I am so very excited! My exotic chocolates have arrived. I couldn’t help myself and in all honesty, I sort of knew I wouldn’t be able to help myself. After visiting the Vosges store in Vegas and t hen writing about it and then going to their website, I had to have some. Sure, I know this comes right smack dab in the middle of my diet, but it doesn’t matter. As odd as this sounds, I am notorious for making sweet, milky, delicious truffles last for a very, very long time. I still have an entire tray (10 truffles) left from the box my husband bought me for my birthday nearly two months ago (there were only three trays to begin with). I once bought myself a two pound heart shaped box of chocolates the day after Valentine’s Day from Fannie May (they were insanely cheap and I’d broken up with my S.O. a few months before, so I was depressed and vowed for once I’d get my damn heart shaped box of chocolates) and they lasted me until mid-June. I like my chocolate, but I also like to savour it and make it last.

Anyway, my new chocolates are from the milk collection. I paid an obscene amount (you can go to the website and look it up if you want to see just how decadent I really am) for “16 exotic milk chocolate truffles.” They include “Field Songs”–with roasted yams + maple syrup + African grains of paradise, “Woolloomooloo”–Australian macadamia nut + coconut, “Funk & Disco”–buttermilk banana pudding + vanilla, “Wink of the Rabbit”–soft caramel + organic New Mexican pecan, “Naga”–sweet Indian curry + coconut, “Viola”–candied violet flower, and one I am slightly terrified of, “Blues”–free-range applewood smoked bacon + bacon morsels.

I cannot wait to try them all! I also got a tiny box of exotic caramels with Argentine dulce de leche + Costa Rican cashews + milk chocolate caramel, Canadian maple sugar + walnuts + dark chocolate caramel, Blood oranges + Campari + dark chocolate + hibiscus powder caramel and Tupelo honey + milk chocolate + bee pollen caramel.

It might be an odd compulsion or maybe even a sickness, but I can’t wait to try them all…even the bacon chocolate.

3 Comments

Filed under addictions, cool links, dieting, food, products, ramblings, what makes me me

3 responses to “Exotic chocolates…spicy

  1. Johanna

    I went to Taste this weekend and picked out the Goji Exotic Candy Bar (from Vosges). It has goji berries, pink Himalayan salt in deep milk chocolate. I allowed myself a small piece from the bar to try. It was great. I will try to make it last since it was a bit expensive. Have fun trying the different chocolates you picked out.

  2. beetqueen

    How awesome! I’ve heard a rumor that World Market might have some of their candy bars. I’m not sure though. They have some amazing (and wierd) sounding candy bars. So far I’ve tried several of my chocolates and my favorite has been “Woolloomooloo.” Believe it or not, the bacon chocolate one wasn’t too bad. Not really bacony so much as just a smokey chocolate.

  3. beetqueen

    My favorites, by the way, for anyone interested are the caramel with blood oranges + Campari + dark chocolate + hibiscus powder caramel and “Woolloomooloo.” When I go to Chicago next week, I plan to buy even more chocolates from there as I recently tried their Brazilian candy bar and am very excited about trying some of their Italian collection, especially the one with aged balsamic vinegar and the one with marscapone.

Leave a Reply

