A labor-free wekeend

I know it’s Labor Day weekend and that means I’m supposed to be refraining from labor in some sort of remembrance to, well, I guess important people who have labored in the past. While I’m all for an extra day off of work, I also look forward to three day weekends to get some actual work done. This year though, I have accomplished very little. Not that I’m complaining, because it has been fun. More like I’m disappointed in myself because I know I’m making my life sans holiday much, much harder.

On Friday night I was so exhausted from a really rough work (newspaper deadline, department meetings, three sets of essays, quizzes, etc) that I said to hell with everything else. It was just me and the munchkin, so I microwaved some leftovers for dinner, played with him for a little while, put him to bed and vegged on the couch. I watched several episodes of Corner Gas (a Canadian TV show that is quirky, inoffensive and amusing to me–like most of Canada). I was in bed by 10:30 because I was tired and knew I’d have to get up with my son.

Saturday wasn’t very productive for me either. It started off early enough (7 am), but all my energy was spent on chasing my son. We ran some errands and he fell asleep in the car , which is always bad because it means he doesn’t take a regular nap. I had about an hour to myself while he was in his crib babbling to himself, but during that time I got one load of laundry done and some reading for my class. I knew I wouldn’t get anything done Saturday night because I went out to help celebrate a dear friend’s birthday. I’m definitely not complaining, because it was fun to go out for tapas and see a movie, even if it was the worst movie of the year, Death Race.

I don’t even think there are words to describe how bad this movie is. The plot is non-existent. The characters are all unmotivated. The dialogue is a joke. It is the biggest pile of steaming shit I have witnessed on the big screen in a really, really long time (rivaled by Ghost of Mars, another birthday movie choice of the same dear friend). If you don’t believe me, go see the movie. Then we’ll see who shits on the sidewalk.* I knew the movie was going to be bad. It’s tradition to watch the worst new movie of the summer as punishment for being his friend. I just didn’t realize how horrid it would be. Still, even a bad movie is fun with the right friends and a full belly of amazing tapas.

Sunday was also spent in the pursuit of fun. My husband was back home, and since I’d had two days with the monkey (our nickname for the little one), it was his turn. I got to go work out, have lunch and see another, much better, although still awkward at times, movie…Hamlet 2. I got home and had a headache, so I spent the remainder of my evening on the couch, nursing my aching head and playing with my son. We finished our evening with The Orphanage and I was in bed by 10:30.

Today I’ve actually gotten a modicum of work done. I finally swept and mopped my kitchen (it really, really needed it), got a load of baby laundry put away and two other loads finished. I even wrote a quiz for my Film Lit kids because I know they haven’t been reading “The Body” like they should be. I felt slightly productive, until I went to Half Price Books and then to work out. I made up for it a bit by coming home and cooking dinner (and not from a box either, all from scratch). And I know that when I finish this blog I’ll have to kick it in to high gear and actually get some grading done. I’m not looking forward to it, but I knew I would have to labor on this sacred anti-laboring day.

I don’t want this blog to end.

*I realize this is only mildly amusing to people who have seen this movie, but I just couldn’t ignore the worst line in the movie.

Leave a comment

Filed under entertainment, food, life as a teacher, my friends, my son, ramblings, TV, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

