Yes, I’m still alive

I don’t have much free time at the moment, but I thought I’d use the bit I have to assure any readers I may still have that no, I have not been hit by a bus or perished in a landslide of badly formatted research papers. I’ve just been busy. The end of our first grading period is quickly approaching and for once, I am not at all prepared. Midterm testing starts tomorrow and I just finished writing one of the tests today. Usually I have all that done a week or so in advance.

I’m not sure what it is about this year, but it is kicking my ass. I started strong. I had all my lesson plans done. I had great ideas. I even had some enthusiasm. As the weeks have melted away, I found that instead of using my plan time and evenings to figure out the second part of the semester, I’ve been using it all to grade and contact parents.

Friday ends my lesson plans for all of my classes. I think I can wing my AP class. I can move a few things around and start with Shakespeare if need be. That’s always easy. I feel comfortable with good ol’ Billy. My remedial class won’t be hard to teach per say, I just have no idea what units I want to cover. Since it’s basically teaching to the damn “skills based” state wide test, as long as I’m covering basic comprehension, writing and grammar skills, I’m ok. Still, I like the kids in the class and want to make it at least kind of fun for them. Even my speciality lit class is going to be a pain to teach, despite the fact that I get to teach the same class to a new group of kids this nine weeks. I found so many things I want to change, that I basically have to rewrite everything. GRRR!!!

On top of this, I have a pile of really poorly written research papers (with very little research in them), a stack of dense AP analysis over two novels and 17 essays over the great benefits society reaps due to the invention of radio waves to read. I should be reading right now. But, in my hurry to talk to my department chair about a kid who wrote a something offensive in a journal entry, drop the money from our fundraiser with the financial clerk for safe keeping and get to a meeting about another fundraiser before 3:30 so I could still go pick up my son, I left everything I need to grade exactly where it does me no good…on my desk at work.

So, after I made the answer key for my last test and prepared a Jeopardy style review game, I found I had a whopping 15 minutes before I need to hit the sack so I can get up and do it all over again tomorrow.

I know this sounds like a poor me blog. It’s not meant to be. I realize this is the job I picked, and since most days I like it ok, I am sucking it up and getting by. I don’t want people to feel sorry for me. I just want to explain why I’ve not even thought about the blogosphere, much less entered it, in something like two weeks now. But, ya know, if you want to feel sorry for me, and I don’t know, buy me a present, or bake me something tasty, I wouldn’t say no to it.

Especially if it is chocolate or a massage, or a robot teacher to do all of my grading.

Leave a comment

Filed under bad days, life as a teacher, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

