Please don’t let it be strep

The baby is sick and I fear I may be next. I felt fine when I woke up this morning. I made it through the entire day with only a slight headache, but I attribute this to dealing with teenagers all day, not with any illness. After being home a few hours and cuddling my cute, though oozy, drippy baby in my arms, my throat is starting to feel a tad scratchy. Now, this could be entirely coincidental. I don’t know if he has a sore throat. He’s a year and a half, it’s not like he can tell me. He’s been eating and drinking ok and has gone to sleep just fine (with a little help from my friend baby Tylenol–which, I should add, he now asks for by name). He doesn’t seem like a baby who has a sore throat. My husband, in fact, acts like far more of a baby when he has a sore throat.

Still, I don’t think I’ve ever had a psychosomatic sore throat before. Plus, my eyes keep itching. Now this, could definitely be a gut reaction to my darling little one’s eyes which are all goopy and droopy thanks to his playmate at the sitter’s. Despite having a degree and working in a school, her mother doesn’t realize that when a kid’s eyes are matted shut, they might just be contagious and should be kept at home. We kept our little guy at home, even though he didn’t have a fever, because we figured he might be contagious. And there is now a new little one at the sitter’s. Turns out he is contagious…he has conjunctivitis. Yuck!

Thankfully the doc didn’t give us any eye drops. I cannot even kind of imagine having to put drops in a baby’s eyes. She seems to think the antibiotic she gave us for the ear infection he also has is going to just knock the hell out of all his other symptoms. I hope she’s right.

My husband was able to stay home with him today, but I don’t know if I can get two days in a row out of him (not because he’s a reluctant dad, but because he has a job too). I really shouldn’t miss tomorrow as I’m not sure how anyone else could run my classes.

Why isn’t everyone responsible enough to stay at home with their icky, drippy offspring?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Please don’t let it be strep

  1. Nancee

    Ahhh! I think your dirty baby gave me pink eye!

Leave a Reply

