Back on the treadmill, again

So, as part of a weekend of reckless spending, I bought myself another treadmill. I say another because I currently have a treadmill…or more accurately, what once was a treadmill, sitting in my newly refinished basement. In an attempt to get the old one downstairs, my husband took it apart. Only to find out that much like Humpty Dumpty, he couldn’t put it back together again. Not for lack of trying, but he cut some wires and they will not be reconnected.

So, we went shopping and I got a new one. It stands less than five feet from the withered skeleton of the old one.

This treadmill is nothing really fancy. At least not in terms of modern day exercise equipment. We got the cheapest one they had. It still does neat things like take my pulse (I don’t think it’s accurate though), count my calories, track my distance, and it even has several cool work out modes. For home use, it seems fancy to me, but that could be because I bought my old one four years ago, and it was used.

It is nothing compared to the super fancy treadmills they have at the gym I am still a member at. Now, I know it seems like the height of American decadence to have home exercise equipment and a gym membership, but I swear this is not just because I’m a lazy, over indulgent American (although I do admit to being one). I got the gym membership with the best of intentions. I was even faithful (well, three times a week) for several months. But then my workout buddy got sick. And work started piling up. And it was cold. And I was tired. And then I got sick. The list just keeps going from there.

I enrolled at the gym because it’s pretty close to my house. But even as close as it is, by the time I get my workout clothes on, drive over there, work out for at least 30 minutes (anything less seems a real waste), and drive home, it’s at least 45 minutes. Plus, I need my wind down/cool down time. Plus, since the gym has cardio machines AND weights, I felt obligated to do more in order not to waste the trip, so my average trip took me more like an hour.

This may not seem like much, but on a night like tonight, when I had 20 some odd research papers to grade, an extra hour to work out just isn’t in the cards. I finished grading around 9:45 and the thought of going out to exercise was out of the question. By the time I could sink in to bed it’d be after 11. The young me may not have minded, but now I get up at 5:30 and every moment of sleep I get is precious.

With the treadmill right downstairs, I threw on my pj bottoms and hoped on for 20 minutes. Now, I realize 20 minutes isn’t much. At the gym I’d have gotten an hour. But given the time of night, there is no way I would have gone to the gym. I would have plopped on the couch and read or watched TV. It may have only been 20 minutes, but because I have a treadmill, I exercised instead. That’s an extra mile I wouldn’t have walked, a heart I wouldn’t have stimulated and probably at least the calories in that big handful of goldfish crackers I needed while grading (I had serious hunger pains and salt cravings). Plus, tonight was the third straight evening I walked on the treadmill (the other two nights I did 30 minutes),  which even in my heyday I never did at the gym.

Sure, it’s a real waste to drop a couple hundred on a treadmill and a gym membership, but at least I’m using one of them. And I’m pretty sure my gym membership will be up soon.

2 Comments

Filed under dieting, food, good days, products, ramblings, what makes me me

2 responses to “Back on the treadmill, again

  1. missanthropy

    20 minutes is a long time on a treadmill. Don’t sell yourself short. Any bit helps and it’s awesome that you’re doing it. I once spent 10 minutes on an elliptical at the gym with Charlie and I almost fell over when I stepped off.

  2. beetqueen

    I actually love those elliptical machines, but they are really pricey! My legs actually felt a little sore going up the stairs today at work, so I think that’s a good sign!

Leave a Reply

