There’s good news…and bad news

The good news is there’s apparently nothing wrong with my colon. So all the fasting and pain associated with drinking 64 ounces of Gatorade laced with 14 doses of laxative to down 4 laxative pills, was basically just medical torture. Sure, I guess since it ruled something out, it did help in some way. But I’m not sure it’s a way any part of my digestive track will forget any time soon.

According to my doctor (who called me at like 8pm and talked to me for a good 10 minutes about my issues), this means more tests. Especially since I’m still getting sick. I had about a month without any problems (which almost made me reconsider the disgusting concotion above), but yesterday right after lunch things started to get bad and they just went down the toilet from there (literally). Gross…believe me, I know.

Now I get to go have a HIDA scan to see if some how my germy best friend managed to slime me with her gross gallbladder cooties. The only upside to this is that unlike my colonoscopy where I was very hungry (and sick of liquids), I am actually commanded to eat a dinner of really fatty foods the night before (I’m debating between a Western Bacon Cheeseburger* from Hardees, a trip to the Old Country Buffet or a chicken taco salad from Cancun). Plus, according to my formally disease-ridden best friend, at the doctor’s office I get to drink something that tastes like a melted vanilla milkshake. That I can get on board for.

What I am less thrilled about is the other test I have to have. Not only does it involve someone sticking a needle in me and drawing blood (I am a HUGE needle baby and really sort of freak out about it), but it is also for Celiac disease. While I know having my gallbladder out will be more pain in the short term, the idea of having Celiac disease is going to hurt way more in the end. There is no surgery or pill I can take for it. All I can do is cut gluten out of my diet and hope it solves the problem. I don’t know if you’ve looked at any product in your pantry lately, but something like 90% of them have gluten. And the ones that don’t are the ones I’m not that fond of anyway.

Oddly, one of my co-workers just found out she has Celiac’s. It’s particularly wierd because earlier this year we switched rooms. She didn’t have any issues until she went in to my old room. I didn’t start to have any issues until construction on my room started this year. Right now, I’m blaming the room for whatever is wrong with me. Unfortunately, I can’t make the room change it’s diet to glutten free. Stupid digestive track!

*Growing up in California, my favorite burger was the Carl’s Junior Western Bacon Cheeseburger. I’m pretty sure I had dreams about them. When I found out Hardees was owned by the same company (or maybe vice versa), I was thrilled! Except they only offer the WBC as a specialty item every now and again. And of course, it figures they are offering it now…while I’m on a diet!

2 Comments

Filed under bad days, dieting, food, my friends, pet peeves, products, ramblings, what makes me me

2 responses to “There’s good news…and bad news

  1. It isn’t as bad as you think 🙂
    Check out my blog and see all the recipes I have.
    Living gluten free is not about giving up the foods you love – just altering them to fit your new lifestyle.
    There are even bakeries and restaruants that carry GF foods.
    Take care of you,
    Aunt Jayne

  2. beetqueen

    Well, I had the blood test to see if it is a gluten problem. Won’t know for sure until I hear from the doctor, but the more I read, the less likely I think it is. I only have one real symptom, and that’s the one that tends to show up more in children. So….I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

