Chocolate Monday: Fannie May

I was first introduced to Fannie May when, well, I’m pretty sure it was when I was born. My mother might have melted their Mint Meltaways and mixed them in with my bottles. For those not familiar with the company, it is based in Illinois and if you grew up in Northern Indiana, Fannie May was nearly as popular as Hershey’s. Well, at least in my house.

One year, not long after I’d broken up with somone, I stopped by their store just outside the mall and bought a two pound box of heart shaped chocolates. Since it was the day after Valentine’s Day, I got it for half price, which made it just a tad bit sweeter.

I was very sad to find out they were going out of business back in 2004. I got to the store just in time to see all the notes of regret from former customers. I thought I’d hit the jackpot when I found my favorite of their candies, Trinidads in a Walgreen’s. I bought about two dozen and froze them. I ate them slowly and methodically.

Luckily the company was back in business just a little while later. At first it seemed the recipes weren’t quite the same, so I shied away from them. Last year they opened a shop back up in my local mall, so I stopped in for a taste. The recipes seemed to be back to normal, which made me happy.

So for this post, I thought I’d grab a few and try them out again. Even though they are covered in a pastel coconuty coating, they are filled with a fudgy, chocolatey center. It’s a bit of a heavier chocolate than I usually like. It is, however, very creamy and quite tasty. The light coating helps offset the rich chocolate, which I think is what makes it so tasty to me. I’ll admit that I can only eat one or two at a times tops because they are so rich, but that’s no doubt better for my waistline.

The second candy I tried was something new for me, but probably Fannie May’s most famous candy: The Pixie. From the description, Pixies are basically Turtles. It seems most candy companies make them, even though they all call them something different. Heck, even I make them around Christmas time. Every catalog I’ve ever seen from Fannie May seems to focus on the Pixie though, so I thought I should try it out.

The pecans are small and chopped up instead of the full pecans I’m used to. It takes a little bit of the crunch away, but does seem to allow more of the chocolate taste to come through. The problem for me with the Pixie is that the caramel is not as rich and buttery as I’d like. It’s very stringy caramel, which is nice, since these types of candies are often very hard to eat due to their rock hard caramel. To be honest, I find these cornerstones of their product line to be ok. Nothing fancy or great, but tasty enough. I’ve definitely had better. Heck, I think mine are better (and cheaper for me to make).

The last treat I tried doesn’t actually contain chocolate, so I feel a bit false mentioning it, but I have a huge soft spot for toffee. Fannie May makes two kinds of hard toffee–one coated in chocolate and one coated in the coconut pastel coating the Trinidad comes in. Since I like the coating on the Trinidad so much, I opted for that coating rather than my usual chocolate finish.

Now, this toffee is full of nuts, which is not something I’m used to. Once again, I’m used to my husband’s homemade toffee which is the one dish I can always bully him in to making and I happen to think is amazing.¬†Honestly, I think I like toffee better without the nuts inside. It allows my to get a much bigger butter taste, which I do love in toffee. This toffee is very chewy. I expect toffee to get stuck in my teeth, but this seems to get stuck in a more uncomfortable way. I can’t quite explain it, but it feels a bit like the toffee is melting into the tops of my teeth.

All in all, the toffee is decent. Not my favorite, but much like the Pixie, still tasty. And the Trinidad’s are good enough that they make the trip to Fannie May worth it. The company actually makes a Trinidad cheesecake which I was very tempted to buy. I think I may have to pick one up at a later date and write another post about it.

Overall, I’d give Fannie May a 7.5/10. Trinidads get an increased 9.5/10.

Leave a comment

Filed under addictions, chocolate, cool links, food, my childhood, products, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

