Chocolate Monday: Godiva G Collection

A few years ago while I was living in Florida, GodiG collectionva launched their G collection. I saw the picture in the catalog and was entranced. I knew I had to have the beautiful looking chocolates. It didn’t matter that the closest Godiva retailer was 45 minutes away or that 15 chocolates cost a whopping $48, I was on a mission. The only problem was that the nearest Godiva was actually a kiosk that had a limited selection of  their regular line of chocolate. Turns out the closest Godiva store actually selling the special chocolates was at the Mall at Millenia, over 90 minutes away.

But, like I said, I was on a mission, so my husband (then my fiancee) and I set off. Since we were already going so far out of our way, we decided to swing by Universal Studios for a few hours, catch a movie and then walk around the giant mall. Minutes after entering the door, we realized Godiva was probably the only shop we’d be able to afford anything in. We were right, but that was fine with me. While I had fun walking around, my only goal was to get a G collection, and I did.

I don’t remember much about the specific flavors. I mean it was 5 years ago. I remember that I liked most of them though. About three years ago, I once again saw an ad for the G collection. This time it promised two new flavors, so I once again had to try. I had moved and was only 5 minutes from a boutique, but yet again, it was not one of the stores scheduled to get the collection. This time I resorted to mail order. I waited with great anticipation for my delicious treats. The second time around, I was a bit disappointed. I think I had built it up a bit too much in my head.

Now, just a little while ago, I saw the ad again. This time though, it was on sale for almost half price and since I’m a member of the Godiva frequent buyer club, shipping was free. I couldn’t resist.

The collection hadn’t changed since the last time I’d bought one. And like anything, there were hits and misses for me. I guess I’ll break it up into my bottom 5, the middle 5 and top 5. Let’s start at the bottom.

My least favorites in this collection are the wild Bolivian dark chocolate, rootbeer, Vermont maple walnut, Bananas Foster and Mexican hot chocolate. This is in part because I’m not a huge fan of some of the flavors. The dark Bolivian piece is basically a dark chocolate ganache, and I just don’t care much for dark chocolate unless it is paired with a really tart filling. This one was creamy and not as bitter or harsh as most dark chocolate pieces, but still a bit too bitter for me. The Mexican piece was very festive to look at and not as spicy as I feared. It left just a little burn after I finished it, but it was a bit too bitter for me. In all fairness to the rootbeer piece, I don’t like rootbeer. The vanilla and white chocolate do help to mellow the rootbeer flavor, but just not enough for me. The same is true for the banana piece. I love bananas, but do not like anything with artificial banana flavor, so this one just isn’t for me. Finally, the maple piece was just too overwhelming to me. The maple was drippy, hard to eat in bites and just too overpowering.

My middle tier includes the caramel macchiato, praline crunch, pb & j, Tasmanian honey and Tahiatian vanilla. I didn’t expect to like the macchiato piece. I am not a fan of coffee at all. I don’t like the smell and abhor the taste. However, this piece, which had a really neat copper, metalic sparkly airbrush look, it tasted far more of caramel than of coffee, which made it tolerable to me. The praline crunch tasted like the majority of Godiva’s regular pieces. It was definitely crunchy, but not exactly in a good way. It tasted a little wierd in my mouth. The pb & jwas surprisingly good. I’m not a fan of the actual sandwich, so I didn’t expec to like this one. However, the peanut butter is quite creamy. It mixed well with the strawberry jam inside. I may hate the real thing, but with a fine chocolate shell, I find it tasty. As with most honey pieces, this one just wasn’t tangy or sweet enough for me. I really like the honeycomb pattern on top, but honey is just not sweet enough to be paired with dark chocolate. I think in milk chocolate, I would have enjoyed this one much more. Finally, the vanilla piece was ok. It had a distinctive taste that reminded me a bit more of coconut than of vanilla. It was creamy, but not overly vanilla flavored, which threw me a little.

My favorites from this collection include the passion orange, tart raspberry, salted caramel, apple pie and lemon drop pieces. The passion piece is probably the pretties (and the biggest) piece. It is shaped like a large heart with lovely shades of orange all over it. It has a very vanilla taste. I love the little flecks of vanilla bean inside it and the white chocolate is a great pairing. There is only a hint of orange, but it has a nice custardy texture. Raspberry is always one of my favorite flavors. I admit I felt a bit cheated with this piece because Godiva’s raspberry cordial is one of the most amazing candies I’ve ever put in my mind. I think I expected a bit much. But, to do justice to this piece, it is quite good. It’s nice and tart. This is the flavor I don’t mind being paired with dark chocolate. It makes it even better. The caramel wasn’t really anything fancy, but that’s ok, I like caramel. It was a bit of a runny caramel with a slightly smokey flavor, but I enjoyed it. The apple pie does taste like apple pie filling. The white chocolate shell is a bit overpowering, but I think it’s the best choice for the apple filling.

My favorite piece, hands down though, is the lemon drop. It also has a white chocolate shell, but it is so thin, it’s hardly important. What is, is the taste. It reminds me a bit of the key lime truffle Godiva makes, except it isn’t tempered with dark chocolate. It is tart like an actual lemon drop. While still a truffle-like consistancy is fairly solid, so it tastes like a giant tart ball of creamy lemon happiness. Discounted, the collection is worth it just for these last five pieces.

Honestly, if the collection wasn’t on sale, I wouldn’t have bought it again. Many of the pieces are quite tasty, but similar tastes can be found in several of their regular truffles at a fraction of the cost. For those who like fancy chocolates and haven’t tried it yet, I do suggest it, but like I said, only if you get it on sale.

Appearance: 10/10

Taste: 6/10 (the top 5 are 9/10)

Value: 5/10 (very pricey, but if on sale, I’d say a 6/10)

Leave a comment

Filed under addictions, chocolate, cool links, food, products, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

