Chocolate Monday: The Flying Cupcake

Last Sunday, I had a girls’ day out. It was much needed since I am trying desperately to avoid the fact that I have piles and piles of work I’m about to be burried under, a toddler who is in a really vocal “no” phase and have been sick for about three weeks now. The promise of an afternoon of lunch, a movie (even a bad one) and a trip to a new cupcake store, thrilled me.

I didn’t quite know what to expect from The Flying Cupcake. My bff had been once before and really liked the cupcake she got. And as I’m always up for a new cakey treat, I was all in. I’ll admit, in some ways I’ve been a bit disappointed during my trip to cupcake stores. Cake Love was quite good, but by the time we got there (both days), there were only a few types left. At the Cupacke Camper there were only four to choose from. The Flying Cupcake, however, had over a dozen varieties available, which amazed me since we got there an hour before close on a Sunday.

They all looked so good and the flavors sounded so enticing that I couldn’t stop myself. I had to get a dozen. Sure, I rationalized it with this blog post. After all, I’d need a good sampling to make sure I could give a fair and decent review. That being said, so far my Flying Cupcake experience has been great.  

The first one I tried was the Black Forest cake. The buttercream icing is a bit grainy. I personally like a creamier buttercream, but this seems to be pretty typical of decorative cake makers. The flavor of the icing was a bit bland, but luckily didn’t detract from the cake which was quite good. Unlike some cupcake plalces, they don’t pile on the frosting. Most of the cakes I tried had only a dollup or so of frosting. In addition to having what appeared to be cherry pie filling in the middle, it was topped with a marachino cherry. That wasn’t the best part though. The actual cake seemed to be infused with cherry. Although I was a bit snuffly, my friend commented that she could smell the cherry and it smelled wonderful. The cake was moist and quite flavorful. The chocolate and cherry were tempered perfectly, so that neither overpowered, but both flavors were able to shine.
 
The Happy Birthday To Me cake (vanilla) I got as a gift for a work friend. I only had a bite of this one, but my friend also commented the frosting was a bit grainy. The cake though was superb. It was moist and tasted like real vanilla, not the cheap fake stuff so many store bought mixes end up tasting like. It reminded me of my vanilla cake and I selfishly wished I’d kept it for myself.

Later that night, my husband and I decided to split two cupcakes in half, each eating half of one. He picked the Pretty in Pink, which is a strawberry cake with strawberry cream cheese icing. I tasted the cake first since some of it was left on the knife (yes, I couldn’t help it, I licked the knife). The only word I can think of to describe the cake is fantabulous. It actually had small bits of real strawberries swirled in to the batter. Unlike the buttercream, this frosting was not in the least bit grainy. It was amazingly creamy with more bits of real strawberry in them. The cake is moist and, actually started to melt in my mouth. At this point, it was my favorite.

My choice was the Red Velvet Elvis. Now, I am always on the look out for a good red velvet. I have so often been disappointed. I get the bright red and a good frosting, but no real cocoa taste. Or I get a cocoa taste with a frosting I want no part of. This cupcake had something I’ve not had before in a red velvet cake: chocolate chips. It was also GIGANTIC! And, far more cake than frosting. There was really only a dollup of frosting on top of the cake. The cake is always my favorite part, so I can really apreciate the extra cake. This red velvet definitely had a chocolate taste. Granted, that was mostly due to the actual chocolate chips in the cake, which could probably be described more accurately as chunks. The frosting was a slightly sweet cream cheese. Not too sugary. It was hard to get a bite of the cake without chocolate chips in it, but the cake itself isn’t too chocoaltey. It was good, but the chocolate chips were a bit distracting. About half the chips would be better.

The What’s Up Doc had a lot of icing on it. More than I generally like, but at least it was a sweet cream cheese frosting, so it had none of the grainyness of the other frostings. I’m not sure how anyone could eat the cake with the frosting piled so high. The cake was fairly moist and full of nuts and real pieces of carrots, which made me feel almost like I was eating something healthy. Not the best carrot cake I’ve ever had, but not too bad. While it wouldn’t be my first choice, it was tasty, and I would eat it again.

Koo Koo for Coconuts was my next one. The frosting was once again the cream cheese variety, which I prefered and it was full of coconut flakes, another favorite of mine. The cake had a great vanilla taste. It was moist, and although I know this sounds odd, it was creamy. I’m not sure how cake can be creamy, but it was! This was surprising since it had been sitting in the fridge for a few days, which gave it a moistness which reminded me of my husband’s grandmamma’s coconut icebox cake. This was a hit to say the least.

I feel it’s a little unfair to comment much on the other cakes I tried since it’s now been a week and I’m just finishing them up. It took about a week before the cake started to get a little stale, which I think speaks highly for the product and me…I didn’t devour them all nearly as quickly as I could have. Next time I’ll let my brain do the buying and only get 1/2 a dozen.

However, I should say that the Peanut Butter Blackout, which is a chocolate cupcake topped with peanut butter icing does have very peanut buttery icing. It’s a buttercream, so it does have that slightly gritty texture, but only slightly. It was so slight I almost feel bad mentioning it. It did have a nice, sweet peanut butter taste I liked. It reminded me a bit of the peanut butter I use when I make my homemade peanut butter cups, which did make me smile.

Here Comes the Bride’s frosting was grittier and by the time I ate it, came right off the cake (again, my fault, not the bakery’s). It had a wonderful almond flavor though. The cake reminded me a bit of one of the layers of my sister-in-law’s actual wedding cake (which was almond). While the top may have gotten a bit hard, the center of this jumbo cake was still very moist, which surprised me. The cake was fluffy and a perfect white in color (like a wedding cake should be). It reminded me a bit of an angel food cake in texture and fluffiness! The almond flavor was very natural and didn’t taste like fake almond extract, like some almond flavored products I’ve tried.

The Flying Cupcake has three cupcake sizes: regular, filled and jumbo. The regular and filled cupcakes are $2.75 per cake. The jumbos are only 50 cents more, even though they are quite obviously bigger, especially the red velvet. The regular sized cakes do seem a bit pricey, but the jumbo ones are definitely worth the price. According to their website, they have about 35 flavors they rotate between, and I plan on going back many times over the years and trying each, and every one. I’m particularly excited about the Auf Wiedersehen (German chocolate), Gimme S-More, Boston Cream Pie, Pineapple in Paradise, and Bee’s Knees.

Taste: 9/10

Appearance: 9/10

Value: 8.5/10

3 Comments

Filed under addictions, chocolate, cool links, cool places, food, my friends, products, ramblings, what makes me me

3 responses to “Chocolate Monday: The Flying Cupcake

  1. beatifull article thank for share,

  2. Lou Steward

    I enjoyed reading your blog about the local “cupcake/bakery” in Indy. I too found myself lulled by the names and appearances of the cupcakes. And after doing a bit of biting research, I agree with the “grainy” description of the “buttercream” icing. However, as a pastry chef of 20 years (with training in Seattle and New York), I was suspicious of the consistent texture between all of the cupcakes. I started to doubt that this was a true bakery.

    On a second trip, I talked with the baker, a lady who called herself GG (and only deigned to talk with me after I repeatedly asked for some assistance at the counter), and found that this bakery uses mostly mixes. I am thinking she was having a bad day, but she went on to say tell me (in no uncertain terms) that it wasn’t really my business how the cupcakes were prepared. In my experience, a bakery is always very proud of their workmanship.

    Although this shop is a pretty little thing, I find that I will not waste my money or time on it again. I will continue to patron the long-standing and reputeable Illinois Emporium if ever in that neighborhood with a sweet tooth again.

  3. beetqueen

    I agree about the grainyness. I’ve recently tried a few more places with buttercreams that were not at all grainy and was THRILLED. Honestly, my esteem for FC has fallen a little since I’ve had the new ones. I think I’d probably more likely give them an 8/10 for flavor now, just because the cake part was awesome, but now I see the buttercream frosting leaves quite a bit to be desired.

Leave a Reply

