Chocolate Monday: Godiva Holiday Star Collection

Ok, so I’m gonna admit right now that I don’t know if this is the actual name of the collection or not. I threw the box away without actually paying any attention to the name, and despite a good five minutes of searching on Godiva’s website, I couldn’t find them for confirmation. So I’m calling them the holiday star collection. After all, they are only around for the holidays, are shaped like stars and are sold in a cute little box, which I’m pretty sure qualifies them as a collection.

In the past year or two, as a sort of supplement to the G Collection, Godiva has been offering seasonal pieces that look and kind of taste like some of the G Collection favorites. They are usually quite pretty to look at and of a less truffley or praline variety, and more of a creamier, smoother consistancy. Around Halloween they had some bats, ghosts and tombstones. For the Christmas season there are stars.

Each star is painted with the metalic looking paint the G Collection is famous for. I get the feeling sometimes that more time is spent trying to make them look nice on the outside than to be flavorful on the inside, which is kind of a pity. Sure, they are pretty to look at, but I have to admit that after trying each flavor, I sort of felt “eh.” They weren’t bad by any means, but they weren’t something I could see myself buying again, even if they weren’t around for a limited time.

The four flavors are: almond shortbread, chocolate mint, Mexican hot chocolate and holiday spice. Despite the fact there are only four pieces in the collection, it does come in a cute 5 piece box, which includes one of each flavor and an extra almond shortbread piece.

So, since it was the first one I tried, let’s go ahead and start with that shortbread piece. It was pretty too look at. It was a bright white star with splashes of dark blue. Even though there was no red, it seemed like a very patriotic candy to me. Since the piece has a white chocolate base and is covered in white chocolate, it has a very creamy texture. However, it didn’t not really taste like almond or shortbread to me. It was far more vanilla than nut or cookie. It reminded me a bit of French vanilla ice cream, which  while good, is not the promised almond shortbread.

The next piece was the chocolate mint, which was painted a gorgeous green with gold splashes. I loved the shade, but wasn’t quite as thrilled with the taste. It was definitely a dark chocolate piece. The mint mixed with the chocolate was a little bitter, but it did remind me of a candy cane. I think I was hoping for a little closer to a Peppermint Patty. I mean candy canes are ok, but they aren’t my favorite way to eat mint.

The Mexican hot chocolate piece was by far the prettiest. It was a deep burgandy red with gold splashes. When I held it up, the metalic hints sparkled in my living room lamplight. The piece didn’t have the spicy kick I’ve come to expect from a Meican hot chocolate piece. It was creamy, and not at all bitter, which I have to admit was refreshing. Mexican hot chocolate often has a sligthly bitter taste. This one actually has a bit of a pudding after taste, which was rather pleasant.

The holiday spice piece was a bit like pumpkin pie. Not as good as Godiva’s pumpkin spice truffle, but it did have a nice spicey taste. It reminds me a bit of a spice cake and that is nice.

Overall, not a bad collection, but definitely not one of my favorites. I’m often disappointed by the G Collection, which is sad because the pieces are so pretty to look at. However, at $13 for 5, they are not worth the investment.

Taste: 6/10

Appearance: 9/10

Price: 4/10

1 Comment

Filed under addictions, chocolate, food, products, ramblings, what makes me me

One response to “Chocolate Monday: Godiva Holiday Star Collection

  1. What’s up, I recently found this blog – thank you for the good work. Just wanted to let you know that it’s not displaying correctly on the BlackBerry Browser (I have a Pearl). Anyway, I’m now on the RSS feed on my laptop, so thanks!

Leave a Reply

