Chocolate Monday: Um….

Well, dear readers, I have sort of failed you this week. Not that I haven’t eaten plenty of chocolate this week. I have. I have actually been eating disgustingly copious amounts of peanut M & Ms. I’m on my second bag. The first time I got the large bag, but this last time, I got the the extra large, big, big bag. It’s about half empty now. So, yes, I have been eating chocolate.

The problem is that I’ve mostly been dabbling in chocolate. I bite from this company, another from that. I haven’t really given anything a good test drive. More like I’ve gotten in, sat in the seat, put my hands on the wheel and made “vrooming” noises. I’ve sampled from the lovely assorted box my parents got me from the Albanese Candy Company, sampled a few of my brownies from Cheryl and Co and even nibbled a few old stand bys like Rolos. But I don’t feel like I’ve had enough to write an honest review of anything. Except maybe peanut M&M’s.

And really, that wouldn’t be a fair review. I mean, they are peanut M&M’s…how many people haven’t tried them? And even if you haven’t, the reason I’ve been mowing down on these tiny gems of candy coated nutty cocoa may have less to do with my love for them (although I do love them) and more to do with being pregnant. I feel compelled to eat them, and not because they are my favorite candies. The baby commands me to pop them in my mouth every few hours.

In all actuality, I’m not even sure peanut M&M’s are my favorite of the M&M’s. I’ve always LOVED M&M’s, but I waver on my favorite variety. When I was a kid, I was obsessed with peanuts. Every time we went to the grocery store, I used to beg my mom to buy me a scoop or two from the giant barrel in the fruit and veggie aisle. Despite the numerous hands that may have combed through them, I couldn’t stop myself from sucking the salt off the shells, cracking them open and popping them in my mouth. So as a kid, the idea of pouring chocolate over them and adding a colorful candy coating, seemed like  a stroke of genius!

Don’t get me wrong, I was still happy to grab handfuls of the plain variety when I couldn’t get the nutty ones, but they were never what I craved. In high school or college, I remember Mars decided to debut a few new varities: crispy, peanut butter and almond. I never really took to crispy or peanut butter (which is surprising since I do LOVE peanut butter candies), but the almond variety made my mouth water. In fact, I nearly made myself sick more than once eating bags of them. For awhile they were all I would buy, when I could find them. It seems not many stores sell the individual size of the almond variety.

During my last pregnancy, I had a similar craving for M&M’s. That time it was the plain variety. I bought giant bags from Sam’s club and kept them on my kitchen counter during the last few months of my pregnancy. I would pass through, grab a handful, and eat ’em up. It was great!

I think this time my peanut addiction was inspired by my best friend Eee. At her New Years party, she had a basket of leftover candy to share. There was a handful or two of peanut M&M’s left over, so I devoured them. Once I got a taste for them, I couldn’t stop myself. I needed more. And so I’m eating them!

I hope that next Monday I will have a real blog for you. I’ve only got a few tasties in each collection to finish off and then I should have a few good blogs for you. One on brownies, one on cookies and one on candies coming up. Stay tuned.

2 Comments

Filed under addictions, chocolate, cool links, food, my childhood, my friends, nostalgia, products, ramblings, what makes me me

2 responses to “Chocolate Monday: Um….

  1. Roxanna

    Oh my gosh! When I was pregnant with my last son, I ate regular M & M’s continually. One day in the store, my young son cries out to his big sis, “I NEED CHOCOLATE!” She asked him why and he said, “BECAUSE IT IS THAT TIME OF THE MONTH!”

    Unfortunately, as a teenager, he would get migraine headaches from chocolate and, at 27, still does. Now he gets his buckeyes coated in white coating as it does not have any caffeine.

  2. beetqueen

    If chocolate gave me migraines, I’m not sure I could go on! That is torture! Although I do like white chocolate quite a bit. It’s not quite the same though.

Leave a Reply

