Chocolate Monday: Jennifer’s Kitchen

 Today at lunch, one of my friends brought in a coffee cake to share. Now, I know, your first thought is, wait a minute, this is chocolate Monday, why are you bringing up coffee cake? Well, it just so happens that this wasn’t just any coffee cake. It was a banana chocolate chip coffee cake with peanut butter streussal topping. So see, it does qualify.

I don’t usually go for coffee cakes. Not that I have anything against them, I just never really think of them. I enjoy a good cake of any sorts, although I usually prefer mine full of devil’s food and extra creamy chocolate frosting. But as it was free cake and this is my 29 and a half week of pregnancy, so I was all about it.

 Of course, that was before I looked at the flavor. Usually anything with chocolate in it makes my heart go pitter pat, but I have some banana hang ups. I love the actual fruit. In fact, I’ve had one every morning this week for breakfast. But banana flavored foods often leave me with a bad taste in my mouth. I won’t buy banana ice cream or shakes. I won’t eat banana candy (especially Runts). I don’t like that artificial banana flavor. Heck, I often don’t even like the real taste when it’s added to other recipes. I do, however, love banana bread, so I figured what the heck…gotta eat the free cake!

 This cake is from a company called Jennifer’s Kitchen, located in a Southern Indiana town called Evansville. I’d never heard of them before, but my friend got one as part of a birthday present. Apparently Jennifer Korb, the owner uses old family recipes to make her six varieties of coffee cakes. After I tasted the cake, I checked out her website and I’ll be honest, the one I got to taste is not the one I would have chosen for myself. The others, although sans chocolate, sound more up my alley. In addition to being a small town baker, Korb also donates a portion of every one of her sales RHINO (Rebuilding Hope in New Orleans). Kind of cool to see she’s got cake and compassion.

 But wow, by now you are probably wondering if I’m ever going to actually talk about the cake. Fear not dear readers, of course I am! The cake itself was quite moist. I’m always warry when I get packaged food in the mail, especially baked goods. I’ve had many turn out to be dry and flakey rather than moist and tasty. It’s hard to describe the taste of the cake. One of my co-workers said the banana and chocolate seemed to be having a bit of an argument in her mouth as to which flavor would win.

 Thankfully it wasn’t the banana. I only really tasted the banana strongly for the first bite or two. After that, the chocolate mellowed the taste. I was worried the peanut butter topping might also be a bit overwhelming, but the flavor was more subtle than expected. It tasted like a typical crumb topping with just a hint of peanut butter. And let’s face it, peanut butter and chocoalte, even with a bit of banana, is just a great combination. The chocolate chips were present, but not giant chunks. They also didn’t make it too rich to eat without a cup of milk. It did make it hard to buy as a breakfast food. I’m not sure even I could eat when first waking up. It definitely seemed like more of a dessert.

 Since I got to try it free, it wasn’t until I went on the website that I found the pricing. Each cake, which seemed to serve 8, is priced at $25.99. That’s about $3.25 a slice. That’s not counting the shipping, which I’m guess will put it closer to $4 per slice. Now, I liked the cake, but not quite enough to pay $4 for a slice of cake. It’s pretty tasty, but too steep for the banana chocolate peanut butter. I might be willing to spring for it for one of the other varieties, particularly the vanilla cream with coconut brown sugar topping.

 Overall:

 Taste: 7.5/10

Appearance: 8/10

 Value: 6/10

1 Comment

Filed under addictions, charity, chocolate, cool links, food, life as a teacher, my friends, products, ramblings, what makes me me

One response to “Chocolate Monday: Jennifer’s Kitchen

  1. YOU CAN PURCHASE THESE CAKES FROM ME PERSONALLY FOR $18 PLUS SHIPPING, WHICH IS LESS EXPENSIVE THAN QVC.COM

    hOPE YOU WILL TRY ANOTHER FLAVOR…VISiT MY FACEBOOK PAGE JENNIFERS COFFEECAKES THANKS

Leave a Reply

