Nesting, not just for the birds

So I know it should be Chocolate Monday, but my mind is a bit preoccupied and despite having some good chocolate in my fridge, I have been resorting to the cheap stuff for a quick thrill. Mostly M&M’s and Baskin Robbins’ German Chocolate ice cream. Nothing all that exciting or unique to write about.

My mind is a bit more pre-occupied with the upcoming birth of my daughter. In just about 59 hours, she’ll be here and while I feel I’m emotionally prepared for her, I sort of realized this weekend just how much I still need to do to get ready for her. I’ve been so busy making sure everything was ready for my sub at school that I sort of put everything I needed to do at home on the proverbial back burner.

This weekend I wanted to get a lot done. I had a goal: get the house all cleaned and organized while I had my husband around to help with my son. I managed to get the first item on my to do list checked off: I completely cleaned out my car. Now, this may not seem like a must do as I don’t expect the baby to be crawling around on the floor of my car, but thanks to my son, my car was an absolute pit. I’m not exaggerating for stylistic effect. Things were disappearing into the muck and I was disgusted by it. However, I knew it was going to get a HUGE cleaning right before the new little one came, so I figured I might as well let it get as dirty as possible.

It took nearly an hour to get it all cleared out, vaccuumed and all wiped down. I found more toddler snack cups and water cups than I knew I had. Amazingly enough, I only had one bag of garbage. I had two bags of non-garbage to sort through after I was done, but at least it was out. Later that day we got the baby car seat back in, which took a heck of a lot longer than I thought it would. I also decided to do some laundry. By the time I sat down around 4 pm, I was beyond wiped out. I was having pains and feeling icky, so nothing got done in the house.

Today was a bit more productive. I got two loads of laundry done, the living room vaccummed (well, my husband did that), the dishes done, lunch made (homemade mini-pizzas), toys culled, baby clothes sorted, a few last minute necessities bought and I even found the majority of the baby toys and got them sorted and put away. Still not tons of cleaning done, but at least I do feel a little more organized.

I also got both my and the baby’s hospital bags packed. Well, mostly. This is probably the most comforting to my husband. He’s starting to freak out just a tad. I keep having pains, which I’ve finally figured out are just Braxton Hicks contractions (for a little while I was worried it was real labor). I keep trying to explain this to him, but he wants my bags backed and in the car, just in case. Not that I have many places to got over the next two days–just the pediatrician’s office (for my son’s three year check up) and breakfast wtih my best friend on Tuesday. But still, I think he’s worried real labor is going to start any second, and just wants to be ready.

I’m hoping that I’ll still feel well enough tomorrow to get the rest of the cleaning I wanted to do today done. I still need to find the rest of the baby toys, get the swing up and cleaned off, find my nightlight so I can see my way through those late night/early morning diaper changes and feedings and I’d really like to get all of my son’s toys out of the living room and put away. We’ll see. Last time around when it was just me and my husband, even though I worked until the day before he was born, I was able to get a lot more done.

I know I have a bit more of an “excuse” this time, but I know if it doesn’t get done now, it’s going to be too easy to let it go so that it never gets done. Sigh…

This current need to “nest” is actually one of the signs of upcoming labor, at least from what I read online. Yes, that’s right, I was trying to find out if I was having actual contractions, so I went online to see if I could find a description of what one felt like. My mother-in-law keeps asking if I’ve had them and doesn’t seem to understand that I have no idea what one feels like. I had a scheduled c-section the first time around, and didn’t even have a Braxton Hicks contraction. This time, I also have one planned, but these last few days have been very different from the last time. Lots more aches and pains.

I have to keep reminding myself that I have less than 59 hours to go, so I need to just suck it up, get what I can done. Anything I can’t get done, I just have to accept and move on from. Of course, that concept really isn’t in my vocabulary, so it might be a bit hard. Then again, once the new baby gets here, I’ll no doubt be too darn tired to worry about the way anything looks.

Leave a comment

Filed under bad days, married life, motherhood, my son, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

