D’oh!

I screwed up today. Obviously I didn’t mean to, but that doesn’t change the fact that I did.

A parent sent an email to my sub asking for a grade clarification. The parent was asking the sub to shed some light on the situation, but I knew she wouldn’t be able to, so I sent her a quick email, giving her something she could mention to the student and telling her I’d deal with it on Monday.

Or at least that’s what I thought I did. Somehow I managed to respond to both my sub AND the parent. In all my years of teaching, I can’t say I’ve never sent an angry email to a parent, but I’ve always known what I was writing and why. This time, I had no idea she was gettng a copy of the email, so I feel like a schmuck, big time.

Thankfully I didn’t do anything stupid like mock the mother or kid. I didn’t give any smart alec comments and used no sarcasm. However, I was a bit terse and am sure did not give a response a parent would want.

The worst part though, is that she responded. And copied my principal on the response. I’m sure she know I didn’t mean to respond to her. Now I’m going to have to do some serious PR to fix the situation, all on my second day home from the hospital. I really thought I migt be done with working during my maternity leave.

It’s crazy. Last time around, I worked until the day before I gave birth, but when I left, I took no work with me and came back in for nothing. This time around, I took off 7 day early in order to spend time with my son, and have ended up doing work nearly every single day, despite the fact I’m not getting paid for any of the work I’m doing.

I think maybe I should just stop checking my email and really leave work behind.

Leave a comment

Filed under bad days, life as a teacher, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

