Chocolate Monday: Sweet Ass cake bites

A few weeks ago I went to an art show that featured tasty treats from Cory Shutters at Sweet Ass Cupcakes. The tiny cupcakes were cute and I liked sampling all of the flavors. While there, I also got to try several of her truffles, which were rather tasty. Normally I wouldn’t want to review a place twice so close together, however, while in the hospital, recovering from the birth of my daughter, a friend brought me a box of Shutter’s newest treats, cake bites, and I felt I had to write again.

Upon first view, they are easily confused with truffles. They look just like them, right down to the pink decorative frosting on top. Inside though, there is no gooey truffly center. Instead, it is full of a rich, moist chocolate cake. I’m not quite sure how they stay so moist, considering the cupcakes, which were also bite-sized were a bit dry, but the insides are terrific! Even after four days of sitting in my fridge, when I popped one in my mouth today, the cake inside was soft and bursting with chocolatey goodness.

The chocolate on the outside is creamy and blends perfectly. Not so much that I need a glass of milk to wash it down, but just enough that one decadent little bite does the trick. I don’t feel the need to eat two or three at a time, which really makes them a great little dessert. Sure, one may have a fairly decent amount of calories in it, but if I’m stopping at one, it doesn’t have a drastic impact on my waistline.

While I didn’t find a listing for the cake bites on the website, my dear friend who bought them for me, said they were $15 for a dozen, which makes eat bite $1.25. The bites are the size of a large truffle (think Godiva or Lindt truffle in size) and considering most good quality truffles of this size run about $1.50-2.50 each, these are a good value. They are, in fact, cheaper than the truffles Shutters makes (although I have a feeling this has to do with the time involved in truffle making–I’ve done it, it’s extensive).

If you are in need of a quick chocolate fix, that’s not the run of the mill chocolate truffle and won’t leave you needing to pop the entire box in your mouth to be satisfied, I highly suggest checking out the cake bites. Shutters has contact info up on her website for more details.

Overall:

Taste: 9.5/10

Appearance: 8/10

Value: 8/10

Leave a comment

Filed under addictions, chocolate, cool links, food, my daughter, products, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

