Need a little naptime help here

Yesterday I took my little darling in for her one month check-up. Per the usual routine, we talked about eating habits, pooping habits, and of course, sleeping habits. My doc was ok with how much she was sleeping at night (par for the miserable course) and glad she was napping, but not so glad with where she was napping: in my arms. Well, not just in my arms. She also naps in her buzzy chair and in the car seat, but I didn’t mention those places. The look I got when I mentioned my arms was enough to shut me up.

Yeah, that’s right, I got in trouble.

Here’s the thing: I know I shouldn’t let my daughter use me as her personal pillow, but it’s just so hard not to. I mean first off, she’s adorable and snuggly when all curled up on my chest. Second, I get to snooze just a tad when she does it. Oh, and most important, she actually sleeps that way. When I try to put her in her bassinet to nap, no dice. Sure, she sleeps just fine there at night, but somehow mix in a little daylight and she’s not having it.

Ok, I tell my doc, I’ll do my best to knock it off. However, what do I do to get her to sleep and not scream herself hoarse in the process? All the books say she’s too young to just cry it out and I’m not super big on the tough love…at least not at one month. She suggested putting her in the bassinet before she’s asleep. Ok, tried that. Worked for about 10 minutes. So, I tried putting her in when she’s asleep. Also worked for about 10 minutes.

We did this little song and dance of me knowing she was sleepy (she was yawning like a fiend), putting her down, her acting like she was asleep, then waking up when I’d snuck out of the room and sat down at the computer. I tried this today for nearly an hour. I’d let her cry just a bit, hoping she’d go back to sleep on her own, before I went in to calm her down and get her all sleepy again.

Finally I gave up. I had to run some errands anyway, so I strapped her in the car seat and headed out. When I got home, she was sleeping, so I figured I better let sleeping babies lie. And that’s what she’s doing now…sleeping in her car seat.

I hate that she’s doing that. I want her to nap in the right place. I know it will help me establish good routines and get her to sleep more at night. I just don’t know how to do it. Especially when I have my doc telling me she shouldn’t be awake for more than two hours at a stretch. Ok, so how do I do that?

I have no answers here, so if anyone in the blogosphere has some, let me know. (And no, to my friends who have no kids, strapping her into the bassinet or turning the monitor off and cranking up my iPod aren’t options).  I know somehow we will get her there. Afterall, my 3 year old naps just fine in his bed, but I’d like to get her on the right track and sleeping peacefully soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under bad days, motherhood, my daughter, my son, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

