Pampering Myself

Seven weeks ago I gave birth to my little girl, which means I spent the last 11 months or so either pregnant or recovering from being pregnant. That also means I haven’t done a whole heck of a lot for myself. Now, I’m not saying I didn’t do anything I enjoy during those 11 months, but since some of my favorite foods were off limits (sushi), and I was getting bigger and bigger each day, so shopping wasn’t much fun. Since my favorite drink at the local coffee shop is a short, skinny, spiced chai, I could indulge in all of those I wanted, but that, coupled with some junk food cravings, was my only real indulgence.

Even though I had to add some extra calories to my diet, I couldn’t even make them come from chocolate since I just didn’t want it during my pregnancy. Now, I’m back on the the chocolate train, but to a lesser degree than before I had my darling baby girl.

It makes sense that I didn’t get to do much for myself since I spent the first nearly four months with horrible morning sickness (which I NEVER had with my son), so doing anything other than laying around on the couch wasn’t appealing. I had about a month and a half of feeling decent, but then the last three or so months, my entire body hurt and I was so tired all I wanted to do with my “spare” time was sleep.

Now, I’ve never been a really vain person. I don’t go crazy about my looks. Heck, I can’t even remember the last time I wore makeup. This is probably mostly due to the fact that I have never really been able to do my hair or make up with any degree of skill. I figured why pay for some fancy hair do I wasn’t going to be able to keep up?

When I went to Vegas two years ago, I decided to really splurge and get my hair cut and highlighted. Once I did it though, I couldn’t stop. I liked it so much and was given an easy style, so I kept going back. But, while pregnant the doc gave me the big “no no” for getting my hair colored, so I had to give it up and watch my hair get too long and the color die out.

I also had to give up manicures and pedicures since the fumes from those places can be nearly toxic at times. Again, not that I spent too much time on those either, but my BFF and I love to get together for a girls’ day every few months and get them done.

The last vice I had to give up was massages, which was really bitter since I was in terrible pain AND I had gift cards. Sure, I could have gotten a pre-natal massage, but I did that once during my first pregnancy and it really didn’t do much for me. Since I had to roll from side to side, one side felt good, but then when I moved to do the next one, the first side just hurt again. All the work I had had done, went away. So, I said bye bye to those too.

I’ve spent the past two months getting used to functioning on a few hours sleep and trying to recover from having my tummy sliced open and a baby pulled out of it. Although I’ve been cleared by my doc and I feel about 80% back to normal, I still get pains if  I overdue it, so I’ve been trying to pace myself. I’ve been so busy making sure my son doesn’t feel left out or resentful, that I haven’t done anything for me.

That all changes this week. Now, it’s my turn! It started with my birthday. I planned a girls’ day out with my BFF. I left the kids at home and we went to a fancy brunch place to eat. Then we got mani-pedis. I picked a really sparkly color to help usher in spring. Today after my husband gets home from work, I get to go have a deep tissue massage and I am thrilled since I’ve been hauling around 20 extra pounds (baby and carrier, not to mention baby weight I haven’t lost yet). Not to mention that I’ve started working out again, so I’m more than a bit sore.

To add to this, next week I get to go get my hair done again. I’m so excited because my hair will be cute again!

Now that the baby is out and starting to get into a routine, I’m going to do what I’ve been missing and pamper myself a little.

Leave a comment

Filed under motherhood, my daughter, my son, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

