Chocolate Monday: Ben and Jerry’s Brownie Chew Gooder

It will probably come as a bit of a shock to any regular blog readers of mine that I have not always been a huge ice cream person. I mean, sure, I love chocolate, but mostly in the form of cake, brownies and, well, chocolate bars and candies. While I never really turned ice cream down as a kid, it was never something I went all gaga about either. At birthday parties I always wanted a big ol’ slab of cake, but usually found myself passing up the ice cream, especially if it was chocolate. I know, it doesn’t make much sense, but until I hit my mid-20’s, the closest I got to chocolate ice cream was the occasional chocolate chip or cookie dough. Heck, even if someone was serving neapolitan, I opted for the strawberry and vanilla and left the chocolate for someone else.

I know, I know, it doesn’t sound like me, but it really was. I actually can’t remember eating ice cream at all between the ages of about 11 and 18. I’m sure I had a bowl every now and then, but the closest I can clearly remember getting was stopping by TCBY, which happened to be near the theater I worked at for a treat (and it was vanilla with fruit on the top). It wasn’t really until I entered college and there was a mini-Baskin Robbins in our food court that I started eating ice cream again. And even then, it wasn’t until my senior year of college when I worked at the food court end of campus, and maybe once a week at most.

However, in the last few years, I have discovered a love for the frozen treat. I think it started when I met two guys named Ben and Jerry. Or rather when I walked into their store near the movie theater we used to frequent. I found a flavor I adored: oatmeal cookie (still no chocolate). When I realized I could get it at the grocery store, my love affair officially began. It’s never a sustained love, more of bursts of strong passion every six months or so, but still, when the mood hits and I see a carton that sounds heavenly, I have to try it.

During my last grocery run, I found two new flavors from B&J, both of which sounded heavenly. The first was Brownie Chew Gooder. It promised vanilla ice cream with large brownie chunks and ribbons of caramel. I think it was worded a bit more eloquently than that, but you get the general idea. I wasn’t sure what they meant by brownie chunks exactly, but as brownies have always been on my top 10 chocolate treat list, I tossed a container into the cart.

I was expecting little nuggets of brownies, and the carton did have plenty of those. What I was not at all ready for though, were the actual chunks…no, I think hunks would be a better way of describing them, of actual brownies. We are talking actual brownie squares. Not quite as big as I would cut myself from the pan, but definitely sized appropriately for my pre-schooler (who I am hesitant to give sweets to, yeah, I know, I’m a hypocrite at times). Now, the ice cream wasn’t swimming with these hunks, but I think I got at least five of them in the small package. And, they were fudgy, chewy brownies to boot. I’m not sure how they did it exactly, but even after being frozen in vanilla ice cream, those brownies retained their moist, chewy goodness.

To add to my delight, the ice cream was decadently creamy. I could taste real cream in every single bite. Unlike some of the brands that claim to be extra churned for extra creamy taste, this stuff delivered the goods. Plus, the caramel was rich.

My only complaint (other than the fact that 1/4 container has 250 calories, which just doesn’t seem fair for such a small amount) was that there weren’t enough hunks in it. I would have liked about twice as many. I’m a “save the best for last” kinda gal and I was really sad when I got to the bottom and there was nothing except tiny brownie slivers there. It left me with only a vanilla taste, and while I did love the creaminess of it, I really, really wanted one more fudgy bite.

Still, it was pretty darn brownie-lific.

Overall:

Taste: 8/10

Appearance: 8/10 (for an ice cream company, I think their cartons are the best)

Value: 8/10 (they are pricey, but it’s so very tasty, it’s worth it)

Leave a comment

Filed under addictions, chocolate, food, my childhood, nostalgia, products, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

