A leader in technology

It’s fall break and it is really hard for me to think about school in any way. I know I have to. I have a pile of grading to work my way through that could probably bury me if it had been actually turned in on paper. Luckily for me, almost all of  them have been turned in via Moodle.

Or maybe unluckily for me. When I can’t see it, it doesn’t mean it’s not there. It just means it’s easier for me to ignore it. And that just means it’s easier for it to pile up and metaphorically drown me.

To make matters worse, every time I think I’ll have a chance to get ahead, something else comes up. At home it’s the kids. At work, it’s far too many other things to do. Right now one of those biggest “things” is dealing with all the technology issues. If it weren’t bad enough that our server gets buggy at times or that it takes what seems like forever to enter a quiz in electronically, but I often find myself stopping what I’m doing to help someone else.

It’s not that I mind helping. I really don’t. When I jumped on board with Moodle, I knew I was going to be teaching my colleagues how to use it. That was established when I got the computer classroom. The first year I was one of the only people using Moodle, so there were very few questions. However, as more and more teachers start to utilize the technology, my phone has been ringing.

And I’m ok with it. I like helping people. I wouldn’t have become a teacher if I didn’t. I like introducing people to new ideas and showing them how they can change up their curriculum in the hopes that their students find the class even more engaging. It’s not always easy though. We do have a lot of old school pen and paper teachers who still want their scantron tests and freak out when kids turn in pages with rough edges (you know, from being torn out of a notebook). I’ve learned not to push things, but rather to try to give examples of ways tech can be used in the classroom and then let them come to me if they have questions.

One thing I am excited about is sharing the video I’m creating for my masters class with the other teachers at my school. It’s actually highlighting our VR department, which I think very few teachers really know about. When I went down there to visit, I was floored by what they can do. I think my fellow teachers will be as well. I actually want to put together a whole series of videos on the different departments in our school. I think it would be fun to show just what we can do with the tech we have. It might even inspire other teachers to start using the tech in more creative ways.

For example, I think if some of them knew how to use InDesign or Publisher, they could show their kids and they’d probably be really impressed with what our kids can put together. They could make newspapers to show their understanding of history, English, art, music, science, health, etc. We could show teachers using Mobis in their classrooms. Teachers doing review games. Kids chatting online

I haven’t proposed it to my principal yet, but it’s my next big project once the scheduling committee is done meeting (in mid-Feb). First I have to get the VR video done for my masters class.

Baby steps.

1 Comment

Filed under life as a teacher, ramblings, what makes me me

One response to “A leader in technology

  1. Tom Everett

    You have a lot of great ideas. Keep pushing the envelope and promoting change in your school. Does your school have training sessions for the staff? If so, maybe you could present a few types of technology to your fellow co-workers.

Leave a Reply

