So, will I really change?

This week has been rough. Who am I kidding…all of my weeks have been rough this year. I don’t know what I thinking when I decided that motherhood, two different AP classes (AP Lit and Comp AND AP Lang and Comp), the newspaper (and we are going print and online this year) and a masters degree was something I could handle. Well, I guess I am handling it, but I think some sort of psychotic break might be coming on.

Ok, so maybe not a full blown psychotic break. But I think there is going to be some real old school wailing and knashing of teeth. Possibly a full on, throw myself on the floor, kick and scream and make an increadible fuss, old school tantrum. Or, it might manifest in something even more disturbing: a day where I just sort of forget the world exists and have a 24 hour Joss Whedon marathon, not bothering to shower, or eat or even respond to the crying baby. So far I’ve been masking my stress and frustrations with chocolate and muscle tension.

So here I am just a little over three months into a 20 month masters program. This is my last assignment for my second class and while I am AMAZINGLY relieved, I am also sort of freaked out because that means a new one starts tomorrow. I know I should be thrilled because that means two down and only like seven to go, but that seven seems really overwhelming right now. Especially since that seven also includes a HUGE portfolio assignment which actually has two more mini-classes (which brings my tally to 9 more to go). It also has two research classes  that are less than 3 credits, but that still sort of makes it 11 to go, and now my stomach starts turning a little.

Couple that with the fact that I’m comfy in this tech class, and my stomach is now reeling.

My current (well, at least for three more hours) tech class isn’t “easy” exactly. I’ve had several assignments that I have spent a great deal of time on (the videos for my group project, fixing my Moodle pages, creating my WebQuest, revamping a lesson to make it focus on tech), I haven’t struggled with the concepts at all. I am really quite comfortable using technology in my classroom since I do it every single day. I stress far more on the days when the interent isn’t working correctly (three times this week) than on any other days. I mean, tech is my teaching life blood.

And I’ll admit it, when I first saw the tech check list, all I could think was, “this is going to be a waste of time.” I mean, I already used most of the tech on the sheet in my classroom. However, I will also admit that over the past six weeks (technically eight, as we had two breaks), I have learned a few cool new things. My favorite was probably how to make a Jeopardy game using Power Point. I know I keep raving about this to anyone who’ll listen, but I’d always wanted to do it, but had never really taken the time to learn how. Since I made it, I’ve already used the one I made for class once (and I’m getting ready to use it again next week for another section of the class) and I’ve even created a second Jeopardy game over vocab. It was a HUGE sucess and it even helped humble a few of my AP kids who are kind of know-it-alls. It turns out that during a competative game, even the best freeze a little. However, they all did much better on the final quiz, so I call it a rousing success.

This class has taught me that I am definitely on the right track with tech. I’m going to keep using it in my classroom (not like I have a choice since I do have a classroom full of computers) and I’m going to do my best to incorporate some new tech as well. I’m really excited about using podcasts and incorporating more student created videos in my classroom. I’m hoping to make some real leaps forward.

Now, I will say that this class would have been so much better had I learned how to make a robot that could either clean my house OR do my grading. As it is, I guess I’ll jsut have to be glad one more class is done and that I am that much closer to getting some small portion of my life back.

1 Comment

Filed under Joss Whedon, life as a teacher, ramblings, what makes me me

One response to “So, will I really change?

  1. Tom Everett

    Good luck in your with your upcoming classes! I hope this course gave you ideas to enhance your teaching skills.

Leave a Reply

