Chocolate Monday: Haagen Dazs Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream

pbice creamWhen I was a kid, I was a HUGE ice cream fan. Every day after church my folks would take us out to eat and then over to Thrifty’s to get ice cream. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Thrifty’s, it was sort of like an old school CVS, Walgreens or Rite Aid. In fact, Rite Aid bought out the Thrifty’s chain several years ago. Unlike most drug stores though, Thrifty’s had a secret weapon: ice cream. Cheap ice cream. Deliciously cheap ice cream.

Not only was it tasty and cheap (back in the 80’s you could get a scoop in a cone for about a quarter), but it was also unlike any other ice cream I’d ever had: it was cylindrical. Yup, that’s right, the ice cream was dispensed by what sort of looked like a caulk gun and when it was placed onto the cone, it was perfectly cylindrical. Can’t quite get the visual? Well, here is the ice cream “gun” and here is the actual scoop (my favorite, mint chocolate chip) I found on some other blogs.

Thrifty is what made me fall in love with ice cream. Especially mint chocolate chip.

However, as I got older, I kind of grew apart from this frozen love. Sure, I still liked it, but whenever I was given a choice of cake or ice cream, I always took cake. Or made cake. Or just generally surrounded myself with cake, cookie or brownie like products. It wasn’t really until the last five years or so that I have reconnected with ice cream and boy am I glad I did!

Yesterday when I was grocery shopping, I found myself pausing in the ice cream aisle. I wanted some ice cream, but I’m also hoping to restart my diet and exercise program this week, so I realized what a danger putting a container in my cart would be. Even the cute little pints from Ben and Jerry’s are hazardous since they have four servings in them, but sort of seem more like a single serving treat on some days. I was about to leave the frozen section with only a heavy sigh when I spotted some teeny tiny little containers of Haagen Dazs.

More importantly, I spotted one that read chocolate peanut butter. Not only have I been on a bit of an ice cream kick lately, but I’ve specifically been on a bit of a peanut butter ice cream kick. Well, really a peanut butter kick in general. I think it started a few weeks ago when I had this crazy whim to swirl big ol’ tablespoons of crunchy Jif into my packaged brownie mix. Those brownies were so darn good that not only did I eat way too many of them, but I found myself craving peanut butter everything.

So, when I saw the tiny little single serving container of chocolate peanut butter Haagen Dazs, I simply could not pass it up. The greatest part about it is that it is a singlehaagen dazs2 serving of ice cream, so there is no way I will overeat. The little container had 250 calories in it, which is less than a scoop at Baskin Robbins, but was still enough to make me feel like I fulfilled my sweet craving for the night. The chocolate was just a tiny bit bitter, but I find that is often true of chocolate ice creams. Heck, I didn’t even like chocolate ice cream until about five years ago for this very reason. Still, even though it had the tiniest bitter chocolate hints, it was smooth and creamy. Despite being frozen at the grocery store, it was easy to use the tiny plastic spoon included in the top of the container to dish it out as soon as I opened it. Usually when ice cream is sitting in my freezer for any amount of time, I have to let it thaw a bit on my counter before I try to dish it out, but that little plastic spoon went through it like butter.

The peanut butter was silk and slightly salty. Not as salty as other peanut butter ice creams I’ve had, but I think it was better because the chocolate was also not as sweet as say Baskin Robins chocolate peanut butter ice cream. I would have loved it if it had been a chunky peanut butter, but I’ve yet to find a peanut butter ice cream that uses chunky pb instead of the smooth stuff. The texture was smooth and it melted right on my tongue. Still, chocolate peanut butter ice creams always leave me slightly lacking. I want them to taste a bit more like an ice creamed Reese’s cup and they never do. Well, sure, the Reese’s flavored ones with vanilla ice cream and chunks of Reese’s do, but I mean the actual chocolate ice cream with peanut butter ribbons in it. They balance is never quite right. I always think there needs to be more peanut butter and that it needs to be a bit more like a peanut butter sauce than a thick ribbon of peanut butter.

Overall:

Taste: 7/10

Appearance: 6/10

Cost: 9/10 (only $1.27 which is far cheaper than an ice cream scoop).

Leave a comment

Filed under addictions, chocolate, cool links, food, my childhood, nostalgia, products, ramblings, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

