Chocolate Monday: Godiva eclairs

Godiva eclairs 2After returning rather late last Saturday from a week long beach trip in South Carolina, I found our house pretty empty of food. So, bright and early Sunday morning I set out for the grocery store to stock up on all the basic necessities for my family. While food was once again plentiful in our pantry and fridge, I was down to my last few scoopfuls of loose leaf tea, which meant that Monday required a trip to the mall.

For the first 30 or so years of my life I despised tea. No matter how hard I tried, and believe me, I desperately wanted to be British as a child, so I tried and tried and tried to like tea as I knew it would be required of me. When I was sick, I tried the whole tea with honey trick, but alas it could not soothe my throat as I could not drink it. Then one day, almost as if a switch had been flipped on my tastebuds, I found myself actually liking tea. Now, I drink it every single day, but only if it’s hot. Yes, that’s right, it was 90+ degrees at the beach and I was drinking hot tea.

Since tea is now part of my daily ritual, my lack of it meant a trip to the mall, as I have developed not just a taste for tea, but a taste for hoity-toity fancy teas. I used to be a strictly Teavana girl, but once discovering David’s Teas at my local mall, I’ve been converted. I actually stumbled upon David’s Teas only because it is two doors down from my favorite mall shop: Godiva.

While I set out for the mall in search of tea, I knew there was no way I’d miss out on a side trip to one of my favorite chocolate shops, especially since I was due for my free June piece of chocolate. Plus, I my kids were tea shopping with me and I knew bribing them with chocolate would ensure their good behavior.

To my delight, I found new treats available to try. I was immediately pulled toward the thin, lady-finger shaped chocolates in the main case. I loved the vibrant colors painted on each one. The white one with the pale pink, bright pink and dark mauve circles was the real stand out to me. Turns out these are not lady-finger inspired, but rather fashioned in the image of another dessert favorite of mine: eclairs.

I was a bit disappointed to see that only two of the eclairs were flavors I knew I would like. Since I am lucky enough to have a Godiva store less than 10 minutes away, I am able to buy individual chocolates, so I don’t have to spend money on pieces I might not enjoy. I bypassed both the dark chocolate and the coffee eclairs as I’m rarely a fan of dark chocolate on its own and I’ve yet to meet anything coffee flavored (including actual coffee) that I enjoy.

eclaire close upThat left the white chocolate strawberry eclair and the chocolate almond praline eclair for me to check out. Godiva’s white chocolate is not overly sweet, which I greatly appreciate. However, I was a bit let down by the strawberry filling inside. Godiva makes several fantastic strawberry pieces, but this filling did not have the bright strawberry flavor of their truffles. It reminded me a bit of strawberry yogurt, both in texture and in taste. It actually reminded me quite a bit of the Lindt Berry Affair stick I reviewed a few years ago. This eclair was much smoother as it didn’t have the flavor crystals Lindt had, but much like that filling, the Godiva one didn’t really stand out.

The praline almond stick definitely had a more pronounced flavor, but sadly, that flavor was coffee. In the display case, no mention was made of coffee. It was only listed by its name. Considering it already had almond and praline, I didn’t imagine for an instant there would be a third flavor in the mix. But there is and it is very pronounced. Even though I expected the dark chocolate shell to be a bit bitter, I was not quite ready for the double whammy of bitterness that comes with the infusion of coffee into the almond praline filling. For coffee lovers, this piece is probably pure heaven as the center is a bit liquidy and has a velvety texture.

This collection is definitely not one of Godiva’s best in my opinion. Lucky though, they also have some fun icon pieces for me to try and review. Hopefully those will be redemptive.

Taste: 4/10
Appearance: 10/10
Value: 4/10 (these run about $2 a piece–not nearly the value of their more substantial and cheaper cousins, the truffles)

Godiva eclairs

1 Comment

Filed under addictions, chocolate, cool links, food, married life, motherhood, products, ramblings, what makes me me

One response to “Chocolate Monday: Godiva eclairs

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Monday: Godiva Chocolate Icons | beetqueen

Leave a Reply

