Chocolate Monday: Godiva Chocolate Icons

godiva icons allI know, I know, two Godiva posts in a row is a bit much. It’s not that I don’t branch out. In fact, I solemnly swear the next Chocolate Monday post will be something from a company I’ve never reviewed before. But….I was at the mall and they have a Godiva. And I have a very strict rule when it comes to Godiva: If they have a new chocolate, I must try it. This rule is pretty non-negotiable for me. Even if the only new chocolate they are offering is dark chocolate, as long as it is not dark chocolate coffee, I must purchase it to try. Now, if they offer a milk or white version it is far more enjoyable for me to follow this rule.

In addition to the eclairs I reviewed last week, I noticed Godiva also had these brightly colored Icon chocolates. Since they are molded from their famous Lady Godiva and Lion molds, they were instantly recognizable as something familiar, but still new. Of course, after the debacle over the under-labeling of the eclairs in the chocolate case at my local store, I was a bit nervous about any additional surprises these new pieces might have.

By the time I got home, I’d forgotten which piece was which flavor, so I went online for some guidance. Interestingly, I found 3 of the 4 pieces no problem. The green lion I could not find on the website, so I saved it for last as my mystery piece.

Godiva coinsI started with the two Lady Godiva coins. According to the website, the yellow one is white chocolate lemon olive oil. While I may not remember exactly which piece was which flavor, I did remember the yellow one was labeled as lemon. No mention was made of olive oil, so it seems Godiva really is paring their labels down. Still, I am a huge fan of olive oil. I love going into fancy oil and vinegar stores and sampling all of their wares. I almost bought a lemon olive oil on my last visit, so I had high hopes for this one. My expectations were met! Since the coins have a thinner chocolate shell than the lions, I got an immediate burst of lemon in my mouth. It was tart and when mixed with the white chocolate, it was a tiny bite of lemon meringue pie. It is a very light and clean flavor. I don’t actually taste any hints of olive oil, but that is fine. I love a good lemon filling.

The orange coin is white chocolate mango. Mangoes happen to be one of my favorite fruits on the planet, so anytime something is made from mangoes, I get very excited. It is, however, often a flavor that is not utilized well, so I’m always wary. Unlike its lemon cousin, this one was entirely white chocolate on the first bite. The second bite was fruitier, but this piece has a slightly gritty quality to it and a slightly bitter aftertaste that I am not fond of. It’s kind of hard to describe, but I do not think it lives up to the potential it had. The mango flavor is too subtle and gets drowned out by the white chocolate. Plus…the grit is odd.

 

pink godiva iconThe pink lion is white chocolate passion fruit with pink peppercorn. The first bit tasted mostly of solid white chocolate. As I was finishing the bite, I got the tiniest hint of a tart passion fruit. I was initially underwhelmed. Thankfully, the next bite, which was the center of the piece contained a sweet, slightly tart fruity burst. This time, at the tail end of the bite I could taste the slight hint of pepper. It’s a bit of an odd combination. I’m not usually a passion fruit fan, but the creaminess of the white chocolate and the very, very subtle hint of the pepper offset it, so I found this piece quite enjoyable.

And finally, I had only the green lion left. The only other lion listed on the website was a dark chocolate black tea lion, so I knew that couldn’t be what I had. Mine was decidedly made from white chocolate and quite green. And, I’m not entirely sure what flavor it was. There is a definite tea-like bitterness in the back of my mouth as I ate it. It didn’t really have any citrus hints to it. My guess is maybe a green tea, but I’ll be honest, I’m not sure. I generally love green tea flavored desserts, but this was just ok.

My favorite was definitely the lemon piece which I would buy again in a heartbeat. I might pick up another passion fruit piece as well. I’m glad I tried the other ones, but they were nothing to write home about.

Overall:
Appearance: 7/10 (it’s fun to see a new twist on old favorites)
Quality: 6/10
Value: 5/10 (they were about $2 a piece, which is really only worth it for the lemon piece)

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under addictions, chocolate, cool links, food, products, ramblings, Uncategorized, what makes me me

Leave a Reply

